Advice on an Upgrade please?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jimbooo, Oct 20, 2007.

1. Jimbooo

Jimbooo Nibble Poster

Here's my current spec:

K8NF4G-SATA2 Motherboard
    Sempron 2800+ (1.6Ghz) Processor - OC'd to 2.1Ghz
    2x 512MB DDR Corsair RAM
    Geforce 7600GT (PCI-E) Graphics Card

Basically, I really want to get hold of a new motherboard that will fulfil the following specs:

1. Has 3 or more slots for DDR Ram (So I can just buy another gig stick and shove that in and not get rid of my other ram)
    2. Will fit my Graphics Card and allow me to put another Geforce 7600GT in SLI mode if I wanted (so I don't have to buy a new graphics card)
    3. Has a better processor than this

I am looking to spend a maximum of £150, because I am a student and can't afford much more than that at the moment. I'm not amazing with computers so I would have to get someone to put the stuff in for me.

Please could someone offer me advice? I have come to the experts because I'm lost and need to know if motherboard and processor bundles even EXIST to fit this specification. I don't want to have to buy a new graphics card or Ram.

Help, please?:ohmy

Certifications: 4 A-Levels
    WIP: BSc (Hons) Computing
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

First - if you don't have much money (and isn't that true of all of us! :biggrin ) you have to ask yourself - "What is wrong with this computer?".

My rule of thumb for getting faster performance is that you have to spend quite a bit for the result to be noticeable.

What are you using it for?

It is a bit hard to suggest much without the specs on the memory - you could but faster stuff but the memory may hold you back.

And going SLI is sometimes not as much of an improvement as moving to a more recent card group. And if that model number is correct you only have a medium level card - check the docs to see if it supports SLI.