Advice - Keep hoping or just get any job!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by WalterMinty, Mar 5, 2012.

1. WalterMinty

WalterMinty Bit Poster

Hi,
    Looking for a bit of advice on what to do.
    I'm currently unemployed, made redundant in December from a Sales Manager job.
    I've had some experience in Desktop support while working for a rental agency (they basically couldn't afford IT support, so I helped with any problems, set-up email accounts, upgraded hardware, keeping their small network ticking over).
    I have CompTia A+ (passed 2 years ago), and while I'm off work, I'm studying for MCITP (windows 7).

I've applied for over 30+ IT jobs, and getting no where, there are so few jobs that come up for 1st Line support, and when they do the recruitment companies receive over 50+ applications!!
    I now have about 3 months left of redundancy money to keep me going, after that I have to get a job. The problem is, i could get a Sales job tomorrow, but I HATE sales! and have always wanted to get into IT. Should i wait and pass my MCITP and keep hoping? or give up and just get a job that i don't like?
    Any advice, or shoulder to cry on would be great.

P.S - as an example of how tough it is on the job front; I went for a 13K:eek: a year job as software support for a mid-size company -There were 3 stages to the interview process, including a 30min presentation! - I didn't get passed stage one, as there were candidates with degrees in computer science!

Certifications: CompTia A+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

Only you can answer that question. Go as long as you can afford to go selectively applying for IT Jobs. Once you hit the point where you decide that you really need to be bringing in an income again before things get desperate, start applying for other types of jobs as well.

Ultimately, you can only be selective as long as you can afford it. It all depends on your personal circumstances.