Advice for job searching and what to go for?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Solkazo, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Solkazo

Solkazo Bit Poster

Hello,
    Firstly I apologize if questions like this shouldn't be asked in this section, I checked through the forums and couldn’t locate any rules against a post like this one :biggrin

Im just looking for advice really, from people who have entered the ICT working industry.
    As it stands, im currently doing a HND Business computing, unfortunately its just not for me - so im planning on leaving and getting an entry level Full time job in ICT.
    My current Qualifications are BTEC Nat Dip ICT (3x distinctions) and CCNA 1 and 2 (never attempted 3) and as for my practical experience I work part time as a computer technician at a local computer store - I deal with customers, building / fixing computers, taking calls and sometimes going to businesses with my colleague to help out with network implementation.

I have an interview coming up this Thursday for a first line support technician, i have heard so many horror stories about this position (It being Dull, people not respectful etc.) But im more than happy to flunk the wages since it would be irrational to think I’d be on £18k+ a year right from college ! Would this be a good start though ? and would it lead me somewhere better in the future ?
    I have a terrible feeling im not ready for this responsibility - self doubt is a real killer :oops:

Are there any other roads to go down ?
    I would love to be working with networks eventually, desktop hands on support and other practical roles such as this.

Thank you for your time;
    Regards Nath

Certifications: HND Computing and Business
    WIP: Exam 70-680
  2. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster