AD models

Discussion in 'Active Directory Exams' started by Big_nath, Dec 5, 2008.

1. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Hi,

this is a pretty basic for you MCSE's and people working in large organisations. But i am only studying 290 and the AD we have is pretty basic.

What kind of AD structure do large companies (or small for that matter) have? I know this will vary from company to company, i just want to know real life situations aswell as text book.

If you can give me an idea of your organisation, that would be great. Also if anyone has any useful links?

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  2. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

Every organisations AD structure grows as the organisation grows so as to contain/handle the objects(users, groups, computers) that needs to be added to the AD[in terms of single domain to multiple domains, single DC to multiple DCs, single forest to multiple sites, singe forest to multiple sites(you will get a better understanding of these when you study 70-294)].

Which material are you currently studying for 290?? you can still add this to that if you can MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-290): Managing and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Environment (very popular with MS exam preparations)by Dan Holme, Orin Thomas. Also you can still get the same material @ Amazon. All the best mate..

Certifications: MCITP:SA,MCTS(x5),MCSE2K3;MCSA2K3:M;MCP
    WIP: EDA7,70-652,Project+,MSP(70-632)
  3. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Thanks, i am using this book and it is good, it gives a fairly basic overview of the AD. I think what am want to know is how do different companies structure the AD, in terms of what groups and OU do they use? In my organisation we have the AD, but other than distribution group we don't have any other groups or OU's. I am just curious, to know how other organisations do it.

Can anyone give me real examples of their AD's.