Active directory issues

Discussion in 'Networks' started by zxspectrum, Jun 4, 2014.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Hey all

Im pretty new at AD so im going to pick peoples brains on here if thats ok

Currently when i reset a password, i type in whatever and tell the user the new password so that i know its reset. Then tick the box so that they have to choose a new password at logon etc.

The problem we had before was a member of staff wanted to change the password as she was 5 days before expiration. So she went through the way she would normally set it and tried to change it herself, but when she did, it was causing problems. Then she came to us and i reset her from the start just to make sure we were starting from a fresh password. Now she types in the password we gave her and it took a while but it worked. The screen then prompted her to change the password as it should do, and when she tried this it took even longer, say 5 mins approx. So i got tired of waiting and shut the machine down.

I got her to log onto the machine next to me and the password that she chose was accepted with the logging in screen taking a long time ? This has only ever happened to on user that i know of, and i was wondering if anyone could shed some light or point me in the right direction.

Obviously as its only happened to her, im thinking of it being a user profile issue, and she also explained to us that it happens everytime she comes to the password change ???

As it is, shes up and running but this is one of them problems id like to nip in the bud now so that when it comes back, i can explain what the score is.

Thanks for any help and advice

Ed

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Makaveli

Makaveli Byte Poster

Does the user have a roaming profile? If not recreate the local profile on the PC where they are having the problem so a new profile is created when they next logon and see how they get on.