Acquired a Honours Degree, should i do some Certs?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by happystew, Jan 19, 2010.

1. happystew

happystew Bit Poster

Hello

I Graduated from University about 3 years ago with a 2nd class Computing and Network Support Honours Degree and im currently employed with local council as a service desk operator with a secondment two days a week with desktop support (where most of my experience is coming from)

Do you think it would be worth my while to complete a few Certs, to bolster the CV, i had the A+ in mind as a starting point as it does not expire (as far as i know).

Will completing any certs have any benefits on my job hunt?

I know I’m lucky to have a job but the wage is not enough to live on comfortably unfortunately

Any help appreciated!

Stew

Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
    Certifications: Bsc Hons Computer & Network Support
    WIP: MCITP
  2. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

how logn have you been doing the secondment? if you feel you already have experience enough that you would feel comfortable in a sole desktop support role why not start applying now?

And the comptia recently announced their A+, N+ and security + certs will all become expired after 3 years. theres a couple threads about the forum which detail this.

That said, certifying isn't gonna hurt you. As to what to certify depends on what you have been working on? most people round here would probably recommend the MCDST though i think.

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  3. j1mgg

j1mgg Kilobyte Poster

I would advise going for your MCDST and working towards your MCSA.

From your degree and some on work expierence i dont think the A+ would benefit you and probably not the Network+ either.

GL

Certifications: Comptia A+, ITIL V3 Foundation, MCDST, 70-270, 70-290
    WIP: 70-291, security+ and SSCP
  4. happystew

happystew Bit Poster

The secondment has been going for about 5 months!