A+ vs. MCDST

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Trogdor, Sep 21, 2005.

1. Trogdor

Trogdor Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

Hello all!

I am currently studying for the A+ exam and I got some info on the MCDST. They sound quite similar. The A+ will surely make the MCDST less difficult. What I am really interested in finding out is if you already hold an A+, is getting a MCDST overkill? Or does it have advantages in addition to the A+ that would make it a worthwhile addition?

Thoughts and feedback most appreciated...

Certifications: A+, Network+, Server+, PDI+, MCDST, HP APS Server, HP APS Desktop / Laptop
    WIP: ITIL, CCNA, MCSA, and BSc
  2. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

Hi Trogdor...check out this post:

http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?p=49167

Hope it helps

Cheers

Certifications: MCP, MCSA 2000 , N+, A+ ,ITIL V2, MCTS, MCITP Lync 2010 & MCSA 2008, Sonus SATP SBC 1k/2k
    WIP: Hopefully Skype for Business and some Exchange stuff...
  3. Trogdor

Trogdor Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

Cheers Mate! Exactly what I needed. I looks like the A+ focuses on fixing the kit, and the MCDST teaches you to fix the customer as well.

Me thinks it will be next on the list then...

Certifications: A+, Network+, Server+, PDI+, MCDST, HP APS Server, HP APS Desktop / Laptop
    WIP: ITIL, CCNA, MCSA, and BSc
  4. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

Well said!

I'm sure that the MCDSTs of CF will be along to provide you with some more specific info on the cert!

Good luck with your A+ m8...it's a great cert!

Certifications: MCP, MCSA 2000 , N+, A+ ,ITIL V2, MCTS, MCITP Lync 2010 & MCSA 2008, Sonus SATP SBC 1k/2k
    WIP: Hopefully Skype for Business and some Exchange stuff...
  5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Want my recommendation? - Do them both.

The A+ and the Network+ both prepare you with the fundamentals on which to build your knowledge.