A techy's toolkit :)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by leosdelsol, Mar 2, 2009.

1. leosdelsol

leosdelsol Banned

Hi all been ages since I last posted, but now after being at college for almost 2 years and doing alot of self-taught studying, I have decided to setup a small pc repair business to help fund myself through uni next year :rolleyes: nothing major just on a small local scale for some beer tokens :biggrin I was just wondering if there any others doing this and what all tools and programmes do they keep in there "toolbox" while doing jobs???

Currently I carry :
    cat5 utp cable
    rj45's
    crimp
    cable stripper
    screw drivers
    air in a can

Os's (xp,vista etc)
    Knoppix for data recovery
    avg

usb caddy with 100gb drive in it.
    usb pen 8gb

cany anyone advise on any other items i should have on me or any better choices there is out there? I dont know what software or diagnostic tool to choose from either.

All help would be very much appreciated

kind regards leo

Certifications: HND Computer networking, 70-271
    WIP: A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Anti static equipment such as Wristbands and mats and spare anti static bags for taking sensitive parts away.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

a PSU tester and or a spare ATX PSU.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  4. leosdelsol

leosdelsol Banned

cool guys thanks for the input :)
    any other software programmes you think I should be carrying with me?

5. Tomsolomon

Tomsolomon Bit Poster

They used to use two bricks, down the bottom of the garden. Keyhole surgery is the prefered method these days.......:blink

In all honesty....