A+ Question

Discussion in 'A+' started by billy bottom, Aug 14, 2005.

1. billy bottom

billy bottom Bit Poster

Hi everybody

I'm studying at the moment for my A+ and I've just been thrown by a paragraph used by Michael Myers on page 86. He says

"So, even though the external data bus still exists, we rarely use that term anymore. Note that the external data bus and address bus are there, but the chipset provides separate address buses and external data buses - one set just for the CPU and another set for the rest of the devices in the PC."

It's the first time he's used the word "chipset" (as far as I can tell), and it confuses me as to what the whole sentence means. Can anybody help?

Thanks

billy

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I think once you understand what a chipset is and what it does, the sentence will seem clearer. You also need to understand what an electrical bus is in general and that in many ways, a motherboard is nothing more than a large circuit board designed to handle different electrical transfers from the devices attached to it.

Here are the definitions:

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/c/chipset.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chipset

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

The chipset is a bunch of suppplementary electronics designed to augment the functionality of the CPU, and the system as a whole. The buses are the routes by which the data travels in order to do this. By providing separate circuitry and routing just for the CPU, it maximises the efficiency of the system as a whole, and allows the rest of the mobo to function without compromising the "main brain"

This is probably a crap analogy, but I think it helps sum up the answer to what your asking :)

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  4. billy bottom

billy bottom Bit Poster