A Question in Preparation for The OS Exam

Discussion in 'A+' started by Professor-Falken, Jan 7, 2007.

1. Professor-Falken

Professor-Falken Kilobyte Poster

I am studying from the Mike Meyers book and found this from a practice test.I don't think this information is covered in the Mike Meyers exam.Could someone tell me if this information is in the Mike Meyers book I havent seen it anywhere.

Professor-Falken is specifically looking for info in the MM book that relates to upgrading an NT4 system with Windows 2000 and what file system will the new installation adopt (by default).

We know that NTFS is a superior file system and that NTFS is more secure because you can set local NTFS permissions on files and folders. Logic dictates that if the original NT4 box was configured with NTFS, then an upgrade would indeed keep that file system and upgrade it.

As Windows 9x doesn't support NTFS at all, only FAT16/32 then an upgrade of these OSs to Windows 2000 could also benefit from the file system being upgraded to NTFS. The install program will ask whether you want to upgrade to NTFS or not but the default answer is to leave it as FAT32.

[Edit Bluerinse - to remove copyrighted question]

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia Network +
  2. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

I'm pretty sure it is but I don't have my book to hand to confirm. The important thing is not whether it's in the book or not, but that you now know (and presumably understand) the answer.:D

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Prof,

Can you please quote the source of the question to avoid any potential legal problems.

4. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Yeah, i seem to remember it being in there somewhere aswell

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  5. Professor-Falken

Professor-Falken Kilobyte Poster

The question is from a practice test in Self Test software.