A+, Network+, Security+, Server+

Discussion in 'A+' started by magic johnson, Nov 17, 2011.

1. magic johnson

magic johnson New Member

Hello,

I am about to embark on a 12 month course to do all of the above. Distance learning looks the most likely, so I'll have to do it in my own time.

I have 2 years' experience supporting an SME with full exposure to all systems and infrastructure.

The place I got a quote from recommend 90hrs for A+, 50hrs for N+, 50 hrs for Security+ and 50 hrs for Server+.

Is this about right? This is equal to 10 full days of study time, however given my experience I think I could cut down the time for the A+ considerably.

Has anybody else done anything like this and how hard was it to achieve (especially interested to hear from anyone who has done it whilst having a full time job).

Cheers! :biggrin

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Depends on the individual. I've got Network+, Security+ and Server+. Each one took about a months part time study. However I've been in IT since 1995 and did a Comp Sci degree before that.

3. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Hi Magic Johnson,

Impressive list, is there a specific role you're aiming for when doing all these certs?

Was there any particular reason you are doing the CompTIA branch of certs?

I doubt you'll be able to do them all within 10days, purely because of the amount of concentration required to take in all the information. However, you should be able to them them all within 2-3 months if you work hard and read fast 8)

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  4. magic johnson

magic johnson New Member

I only have an HNC, unfortunately. :(

Still, that's a nice time scale dmarsh, I'd go at it hammer and tongs and I'm quite a fast learner, so that's a plus I guess. I'd definitely hope to have them all within 12 months.

Hi Boffy,