A+ / Microsoft dilemma

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by exonje, Sep 6, 2011.

1. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

Hey guys. I'm currently working in a job i don't like and want to get into 1st line support. I have 7+ years experience of working as a computer technician. Now I'm not sure if A+ is necessary, it seems a little outdated? I had a look at several practice exams on CompTIA A+ Practice Questions and the questions seem very dated (unless the questions on proprofs are old ones?). Also I've been looking at jobs and none of them mention A+, only microsoft certs. Money is a bit tight and i don't want to be paying money for something I don't really need. I'm tempted to just start doing the windows 7 microsoft exam, but I am willing to pay for A+ if it really is needed?. Any help would be great, thanks guys.

2. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

bump bump

3. steve_p1981

steve_p1981 Byte Poster

if you have 7 years as a computer tech then you might aswell start on the windows 7 exam. I was going to go straight for the windows one but i didn't know about pxe envorionments and how to boot from a network location but if you've been in the trade for 7 years you'll probably know all that and be ok with the test.

Certifications: A+ 220-701 and 220-702
    WIP: none at current but poss 70-680 soon
  4. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

This forum isn't very active is it :(

Steve, I have no idea what pxe environments are! I really don't mind doing A+/N+ if theres content I need to know and more importantly do EMPLOYERS value them? I ask this because every job I look for ask for MCPs, comptia certs are never mentioned. Can anyone please give me some advice?

5. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster