a little advice

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by merrsh1, Aug 6, 2008.

1. merrsh1

merrsh1 New Member

Hi All,

I have been using .Net for about 2+ years. I want to do some kind of certification as I'm a contractor and pretty much live or die on the strength of my CV, plus I'm interested in doing it too.

Due to the MCAD/MCSD being retired I thought the best route for me would be completing the MCTS examination then leading on to MCPD. Any advice? Does this seem sensible?

Although the MCSD is being retired would it make more career sense to do this than an MCPD?

Tips, help advice much appreciated.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Its entirely up to you, both tracks are still available, you have just under a year to complete the MCSD I believe.

Personally I think the newer tracks are better because :-

1. They are more focused on the different technology tracks.
    2. They are more technical in nature.
    3. They target the most widely in use version of .Net which is 2.0.

You can still however do a mix and match, take the older exams to get a certification of MCAD or MCSD and then upgrade to MCPD if you prefer.

3. merrsh1

merrsh1 New Member

Forgive my ignorance, is the MCPD the newer track or the MCSD? (I assumed the MCPD was the newer)

I also assume that when the exams are retired there will be a direct 'upgrade' exam to whichever new qualifications Microsoft come up with?

Basically what I'm aiming for is the most upto date, worthwhile qualification.

Thanks for your help.

4. dmarsh

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Old track was MCSD.

New track is MCPD but this is split into three sub-tracks for three different MCPD certs.

MCPD is available on .Net version 2.0 and on .Net 3.5.

See here :-

http://www.microsoft.com/Learning/MCP/MCPD/default.mspx

Upgrade exams exist for transitioning from the major certs.