A Hello!! and Advice Question

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Inspiration, May 21, 2009.

1. Inspiration

Inspiration Bit Poster

Hello!!

I've posted on this forum before but never introduced myself.

I'm a 30 year old who has been in IT related jobs since 17. I started off in 1st line ISP support, then went to 2nd line, then hosting support. And then moved into a new job being responsible for a 40 PC network and development of a pretty big SQL 2k Database with Access/VBA front end. Also some admin tasks on several Windows 2003 servers.

And that's where I'm at now.

My reason for being here is that in those 13 years, I've not gained a single IT qualification. I've plenty of experience of Windows, Windows servers, some Linux, SQL 2k, VBA.. but no paper work... no letters on my CV.

My dilemma, and this is where I hope you folks can help me out.. is as follows:

I want to gain a Microsoft qualification as a sort of insurance policy in the event that I loose my job, or I want to move into another IT role. The way I see it, this can only benefit me and my experience. Certification is never a bad thing with experience, I just don't want to waste my time and money on picking the 'wrong' route.

However, I'm stuck on which route to take.

I've narrowed it down to two paths:

- Get MCTS: SQL Server 2005

It would I hope compliment the 4 years database development experience I have and help me get into another database role if I needed to. However I'm a little concerned that the jump from SQL 2000 to 2005 will make this exam quite difficult to begin my certification journey with. I've not used SQL Server 2005 yet, although after a quick look around a lot of it seems familiar. I've also read this particular exam (70-431) is quite a difficult one on these forums.

- Get MCSA

Covers a wider range of technologies and may suit my entire IT experience rather than just the Database side. However, more exams over a longer period of time.