A few questions!

Discussion in 'A+' started by winko, Sep 1, 2010.

1. winko

winko New Member

Hi there, Im thinking of studying towards the A+ exam but just a few questions first before I buy the book...

1. Will I realistically be able to study for the exam before the end of the year as Im aware of the change in how long your certified for?

2. Will I be able to book the exam (at Pearson Vue or Prometric) in time before the end of the year or is there usually a month or two wait?

3. Do I have to register on the CompTIA website as Ive had a look but I cant work out how to do it!

Thats pretty much all I need to know, thanks! :biggrin

Certifications: BTEC ND in IT
    WIP: A+ MCDST
  2. Killian

Killian Byte Poster

Welcome to the forums Winko. Will attempt to answer your questions for you as I'm UK based too :)

1. Yes. Most definately. I started studying properly in January this year and had no certs before that. Did A+ in a couple months but wasn't really dedicated to it and the same with Network+. Picked up some steam for my MCTS and did that in 4 weeks. Depending on how well you study and the commitment you make; I see no reason whatsoever why you can't pass by November nevermind December :)

2. You can book the exam at either prometric or pearsonvue (google them for direct URLs) and the timescales vary for sites but very little notice is often needed. I've just booked my Security+ exam for next Tuesday and was going to book it for the Tuesday just gone on Sunday night. It is all done online so providing the Testing Centre is open and taking bookings you can usually book up until the night before (never tried to book on the actual day but would imagine that's possible too).

3. You register with Prometric/PearsonVUE for your exam and you get your CompTIA details after sitting the first exam if I recall correctly.

Hope that answers your questions :)

K

Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
    Certifications: See sig.
    WIP: Everything!
  3. winko

winko New Member