A few questions about MCAD/MCSD

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by rip_van_winkle, Aug 15, 2006.

1. rip_van_winkle

rip_van_winkle New Member

Maybe some of this was answered in the 'Resources' sticky but the link is down.... just a few unrelated questions I can't find the answers to really:

• Is it possible to take only the exams without purchasing any training? Can someone give me some links because if this is possible I'm finding it hard to locate a provider... (I need to know this because I've looked through some sample papers and it's just revision as I've been a dev for three years now, also I can get self-study materials through my employer and I can't afford training)
    • Can you upgrade from MCAD to MCSA by doing the extra exams, or must you retake the whole set at once?
    • I'd like to move into a solution architect role eventually, but I think I need a couple more years of pure dev experience (I am not in a pure dev role at the moment - getting certification is part of my plan for getting into one); should I consider looking at the MCTS or the MCPD instead of the MCAD / MCSD?

Any tips would be very welcome :biggrin

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to CF!:biggrin

What you can do is self-study... buy books and the hardware/software you need and learn at home at your own pace and time and save lots of money. If you ever need help forums like this one can help out if you post your problems.

You would have to do the whole set again.... this isnt suggested anywhere as its like two different worlds you trying to be an expert in... it can take years to get certfied (one guy on here took 3 years for MCSE im on 1 year and not even MCSA yet!).Getting certified even studying full time takes time and you need to make sure you know more than you need to know to pass the exam. I suggest you look at what you want to do and choose one of them of now and concentrate on that.