A Dilemma

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by shaggy, May 23, 2007.

1. shaggy

shaggy Byte Poster

This may be a bit confusing but here goes.

Ok, basically im a self employed PC engineer, i get work through a company, im on call 5 days a week, and i get anything from £15 to £45 a week, pretty crappy i know, but its very flexible and i think that is the reason im still working with this company, i get about 3 hours work a week on average

As i work under 16 hours a week i claim job seekers allowance so i can afford to run my car

The jobcentre have said i can join a course to help me set up my own business and get funding from the Princes trust, however, i must quit my current job to be accepted on the course because they wont accept someone who is already self employed, the course sounds very promising, they help with initial business plans, advertising, marketing etc

The job centre have given me a choice, either quit and do the course to set up my own business in PC repairs etc or carry on the way i am and eventually be put on a work placement of their choice (standard jobcentre procedure after so many months of claiming job seekers allowance) or sign off from the job centre all together and live on the money from my current job

i dont know what to do, in the long run i could obviously be earning a substantial amount more if i did work through my own business but id have to quit and go without money from work for 6 weeks (thats stage 1 of the course i think, stage 2 is a 6 month test trading period, altho i can only spend money made in this period on the business) but i would still be recieving £45 a week from the jobcentre

at the moment im leaning towards quitting and joining the course in june, any wise words of wisdom or opinions on what you would do in my situation?

sorry if its confusing

Certifications: BND ICT Systems Support and Networking
    WIP: A+
  2. Colin1

Colin1 Byte Poster