70-680 Deploying Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by shadowwebs, Sep 12, 2012.

1. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

Hi,

I have just watched the Professor Messer video on Deploying Windows 7, I am sure I followed step by step what he was doing but for whatever reason I didn't have the same result he had.

I am using Oracle Virtual Box, I created the XML using Windows System Image Manager, the XML I gave the file name 'autounattend.xml', I had the boot ISO selected in Virtual Box and had the USB stick which contained the XML also loaded. my XML is attached, and as this is my first attempt, I was expecting things to go wrong as this is where the learning curve then kicks in.

The XML is not loading I do not think, as instead of at least bypassing the language screen, it goes to the screen and wants me to pick a language even though the XML has this stated as EN-US (for the time being, I will change it to UK once I have at least got the basics going).

Any advice on where I am going wrong would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Attached Files:

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  2. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

Hi,

Hmmm, not sure, but I'd look at this line:

I would have something like this:

Which would specify the drive letter where I have the WIM image. Maybe it doesn't like the fact that yours is within your 'user profile' area?

Certifications: B.Sc.(Hons), MBCS. MCP (271,272), MCDST, MCTS (680), MCITP:EDST7, MCSA:WIN7, MCPS, MCNPS
    WIP: 70-686, then onto MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure via MCSA: Server 2012...
  3. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

Did you put the XML on the root of your flash drive?

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  4. shadowwebs

Richy,

That's a good point, I didn't notice that so will update it accordingly and try again.

Soundian,