70-291 passed, where from here?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by nutsy, Jul 3, 2009.

1. nutsy

nutsy Bit Poster

Hi there,

I started studying for my MCSE about 2 years ago, passed 70-290 in a month or two and then got sidetracked by several complicated (paid) work projects. I never quite managed to start studying again, until last week when I learned I was being made redundant!

So, I thought "oh ****!" and dusted the book for 70-291 off, studyed hard for about 2 hours a day for a week, and then booked the exam for 2 days later - this morning. Passed with a score of 952 (phew!). I figure I'm going to do the xp client exam next, which hopefully should be fairly easy, but where shall I go after that?

I have about 5 years experience of administering / designing / supporting windows networks and the various bits and pieces that come along with them, with a particular empahis on SBS 2003. I'm doing the qualifications more as CV fluff than to gain knowledge (although everything learned is a bonus), as I'm fairly confident in my experience and also my ability to learn on the job - always been good at self teaching and figuring things out as I go.

I thought I might try and quickly get the MCSA qualification and start applying for jobs while I try to finish up the MCSE, though I don't want to take any more exams than needed (£88 is a lot of chocolate cookies).

Anyone have any suggestions?

WIP: MCSE
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Well done mate. Just one bit of advice from me, don't take your 70-270 too lightly . . . .
    Congrats, Jim

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP