70-284 Starting out

Discussion in 'Exchange Exams' started by zimbo, Apr 2, 2007.

1. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

So i have decided to take a big dive and learn Exchange and eventually take the 70-284 exam. Im going to need plenty of help and guidance on this one for several reasons - the main one being i have never used or seen Exchange in action before so im like starting from ground 0! Now is this crazy and am i kidding myself or can it be done? I will only start my learning when i get back home in the summer... i wont be studying full time cause ill more likely have a job in the summer doing "something" but i have until end of Sept so a good 5 months to learn and study.

The next question is how do i start? What should i know before starting?

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

It looks quite difficult from the objectives. :blink

Lab wise probably best to go for a DC, and a Exchange server so you can at least get used to Exchange system manager.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Sure, it *can* be done... but it won't be easy if you've never seen Exchange in a live environment before. That said, you have to start somewhere, so if you can't get some real world experience on it, get it set up at home and play with it. As expected, the Action Pack or TechNet Direct will help with your software needs.

I know Will Schmied personally... I'd recommend his books in a heartbeat.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. zimbo
    Honorary Member