70-270 Share permissions

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by salv236, Jun 9, 2010.

1. salv236

salv236 Nibble Poster

Hello,

i am currently studying the topic concerning share permissions, i see that you can setup multiple share names for the sane folder and applying different share permissions.

What i am finding difficulty understanding is why you would need such a requirement in the real world, can anyone picture a scenario?

Thanks for any assistance.

Best Regards

Salv236

Certifications: none
    WIP: MCSE XP/2K3
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Are you meaning users?

You might want one user to be able to everything on one part of the network but not allow them to do everything on another part of the network.

If you mean folders then it can be a bit complex there are two different types NTFS and share.

share only has 3 options and full control, change and read. The problem with shared folders is that it is set to everyone and read and this is why alot of time when you access a folder everyone else can too but they cant do anything and using share is a bad idea because you dont want every shared folder to be set to read and you don't want eveyrone to be able to see it either. So this is why NTFS permissions come in because you can set NTFS permissions to be accessed by certain groups and set it so those groups are only allowed to do what you want them to do. If I am correct all in all NTFS permission allow 14 different permissions for example you can allow a user to have full control or another to modify the contents you may allow someone to list the contents but not allow them to change the contents.

If you do a backup with NTFS or change the folders names then the NTFS permissions still apply with share they do not so from a security point of view NTFS should always be used.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Simonvm