70-217 / 70-294

Discussion in 'Active Directory Exams' started by BigG, Aug 5, 2009.

1. BigG

BigG Nibble Poster

Hi All,

I am hoping to get a job that requires me to setup users by using Active Directory. Whilst I have no working knowledge of AD, I understand the principles (the gov body have interviewed me and are not worried about my lack of experience in AD)

Assuming that I get this job, is there any reason why I can't start studying for the AD exams? I know that they make up part of teh MSCE so I was wondering if they are too advanced for a beginner?

Cheers

Gareth

Certifications: BSc, Prince2 Practitioner, MCSA Win7, MCSA 2008
    WIP: Vmware, ITILv3 on the back burner
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Slowly slowly catchy monkey. You're currently gunning for your A+ (as stated in your previous thread) and you want to learn AD design?

Concentrate on your lower level qualifications first and then move on.

A good guide would be A+, N+ and then MCDST, MCITP.

You need to build the foundations of your knowledge and then progress.

Have a good read around the forums, there is lots of advice to take note of.

HTH

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. BigG

BigG Nibble Poster

Cheers Qs

I certainly wasn't trying to jump ahead of myself, I was just wondering if the AD books/exams would give me a leg up or if it would be a leap too far - sounds like maybe it's a leap too far! But that's why I joined here - to find out!

I was thinking of the A+, N+ and then MCDST route as that (quite rightly) seems to give a good grounding. Will take a look at the MCITP as well

Cheers

G

Certifications: BSc, Prince2 Practitioner, MCSA Win7, MCSA 2008