2009 Graduates

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by fatp, Mar 26, 2009.

1. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hey Folks.

I graduated back in June 2007 when the market was very stable and there was plenty of jobs available in the IT sector. I got my job 6 months after finishing my course at university and it got me thinking about.... this years graduate's. It is going to be vey hard to secure that first elusive IT job especially if they have no real work experience or didnt do a placement year. The fact that there isnt very much jobs out there in line with the competitiveness of in the industry suggest that these newbies are in for a shock. A lot of graduates when they finish uni, think they will leave and go onto well highly paid jobs. What do you guys think?

FatP. :blink

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

thats always been the case anyway, I thought I would get a well paid job when I left uni and I left in 99 but it didn't happen for me. People think that just because they went to uni they will get a good job with good money the same can be said for people who go with training providers it doesn't always happen

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Evilwheato

Evilwheato Kilobyte Poster

I honestly thought the same would happen to me, after getting a 1st class degree in June '08. However, the area of work I was applying to was very competitive and previous experience was a large advantage (which I didn't have). I'm very lucky I have my job now, and it's something I enjoy.

I think you could see more graduates either going on to do postgraduate qualifications or adding to the unemployed figures as they struggle to find work.

4. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

Guess am one lucky chap because last month I got an e-mail for a job offer with an IT firm actually a M$ partner organization. Takes effect immediately I graduate this September/October.:D