1st week of work exp

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by zxspectrum, Jul 29, 2011.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Well i have to say, im happy with myself for doing a full weeks work in about 4 years, obviously because i was a student and had other crap going on that limited me to what i could do.

The lads im working with in the school are decent, especially a bloke called Howard, basically ill work with him, and go where he does, suppose im his shadow really, and he tells me what we need to do, how to do it, then leaves me to get on with stuff, any questions i have he has all the answers, and i understand everything hes saying, which is a good thing.

Monday and tues was basically moving stuff about. Wedensday thurs and fridaye was setting up the library, with servers and pcs etc, ghosting the lot, changing domain names, using ipconfig, mapping drives, using computer control software etc. All of this has been fun, and rather than just doing itm, i have learnt a hell of a lot in the last few days, so much in fact that i was ablle to ghost and set up the second section of the library on my own, which im well chuffed about, we have loads more stuff to do, and strangely, im looking forward to monday. One thing i did have trouble with, was making RJ45 cables, found that to be fiddly, and it took me ages to do one lol, so need to work something out for that, dont know what though lol

Thought id keep you up to date

Ed

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Glad you enjoyed it matey, but why have they got you making patch cables? Or was it a specific length cable they needed for a particular run? Far easier to just buy them in normally as the time it takes to make them would cost them more that it would to make them (unless they have someone that aren't paying like you I guess. :) ).