1st day at new job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by noelg24, Oct 16, 2006.

1. noelg24

noelg24 Terabyte Poster

and I am settling in very well...:biggrin...I spent most of the day getting to know the staff, and sat down with a couple of people one of whom I will be working alongside. and just having a look at the things I will be dealing with. I have to say I think this is it for me. This is exactly what I have been wanting since I started learning about PCs 9yrs ago.

It will take me sometime to get used to the whole thing, but knowing me I will and should be able to pick things up very quickly.

So just wanted to give u all a heads up. Whats even better is that we have unrestricted access to download whatever we want...:twisted: but no I wont be abusing it like that, just doing me usual visits when I was at Apple and that, but blimey I was also told our connection to the internet is a whopping 20Meg :eek:, altho other parts of the building are using 100Meg but they are sharing that with some of the customers we are supporting.

But all in all not a bad day. Tomorrow the stuff begins. :biggrin

Certifications: A+
    WIP: my life
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Good stuff! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your first day, and as you said, the second is where the fun begins!

Did you look around the datacentre up stairs? Man that thing is impressive! :eek:

3. noelg24

noelg24 Terabyte Poster

Mate I wish I could live in there...all those servers and cables...hehe..a Techie's dream I tell ya...I even spent a bit of time with the lads who deal with the installation and onsite stuff...one of them was sorting out this WYSE box. He had set the res up too high for a 19" LCD, so he had to change the display to a 17" CRT and reduce it to the size the LCD wanted (1280x1024 60Hz) and it was working fine after that. But it was a joy to watch them faff about tho.

Man the IT sector is certainly where I belong...:biggrin

4. Boycie