Your thoughts please...

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Danshand, Sep 17, 2009.

1. Danshand

Danshand Nibble Poster

Hello All,

I have only post on this forum a few times, I'm more of a reader than a contributor sorry to say!

I am currently planning to do quite a few exams as I would like to move to London in 12-18 months and start working in the city. I have been working in IT for 6 years now and have a great range of experience in lots of different areas. I am very confident in my ability, and my ability to get through the recruitment process.

However, I would like to aim higher for my next job, and so im studying for the certifications. I am starting on the MCITP:EA and have currently sat the 70-620, and have the 70-642 booked for 28th September. I am averaging 4-6 weeks per exam, from start to passing the exam (presuming i pass 70-642 first time).

Now because I do not plan to get the new job for 12-18 months, I am left thinking, just what else can I do? I previously studied quite a bit of CCNA material but got distracted and never sat the exam, however I am confident that in my current studying state of mind I would get this done.

So to get to my point, if I finish my MCITP:EA, CCNA and then do either VCP, ITIL or Prince 2; how long should I give myself? Am I being far too optimistic to think I can get everything done in my time scale? I am quite fortunate as I can do a couple of hours study a day at work when its quiet.

Have any of you guys done this kind of exam madness in the past? Compared with the whole MCITP:EA, how do CCNA and ITIL compare? Are they longer or shorter to study for?
    Anyway, I am sure I have bored you all to death by now, but at least I don't post too often! Let me know what your thoughts are, before I start a losing battle!!

Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
    Certifications: Many.
    WIP: MCITP, ITIL
  2. d_mcgrail

d_mcgrail Nibble Poster