Your Advice On Career Path...

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Sure Shot, Jul 8, 2007.

1. Sure Shot

Sure Shot Nibble Poster

Hi All,

Something that's been bothering me a touch..

I am currently working in telecoms looking to start a career in IT a.s.a.p.

I know enough about the different fields of IT that exist and am confident that network engineering/admin is the department I am going to work towards.

I have passed the N+, I am currently studying for a MCDST and work self employed part time as a mobile pc engineer (fixing peoples pc's in their homes).

2 things I'm unsure of:

1. What certs would you recommened next and in what order?

2. What suitable low level job roles could you suggest I look for to get into this field?

Obviously I am studying desktop support and realise 1st line helpdesk roles are a common starting point. I am not against the idea of starting here but would like to get some more ideas on other "starting" roles for networking.

Thanks

Certifications: N+
    WIP: MCDST
  2. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Hmm that's tricky one!

Depends on the employer if you look incomputer weekly or on Monster you will see some ask for CISCO some ask for MCSE!

Some firms (mostly UK) you require you to have ITIL or they won't touch you with a barge pole:biggrin

Here's a link from MONSTER that shows IT jobs in Wales click here

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

I would recommend you also getting the A+ aside from having the N+ and MCDST. Its a basic certification with lots of information that will greatly help you even in network admin job.