Yet Another Hi! - What about a network support biz?

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ukbubs, Jul 9, 2006.

1. ukbubs

ukbubs New Member

Been lurking for a couple of days - great forum - glad to see I'm not the only one who is addicted enough to this stuff to think of trying to make a living at it.

I've been an amateur to date - but the kind who plays around with AD configs for fun, as well as the normal pc building stuff.

I just took MCSE quizes on another site for MCSE 70-210, 215, 216 and 217, and whilst I;m not sure I would have passed them all for real if I took them tomorrow, the only one on which I bombed badly was 217. So i reckon MCSA / MCSE is not a crazy ambition - even tho I'm unlikely to work for the size of organisation where AD forests are ever necessary!

I understand the perils etc of running a small 'fix your home pc' business, and have read others' posts on the subject. My question is slighly different......

There are plenty of businesses which run LANs, but have no need of a full time sysadmin. What is the market of providing support services on an outsourced basis?

Sure, I lack track record, but I have plenty of management and sales experience, so I know I could talk with MDs on their level etc.

Am I mad :oops: or just ambitious??? :)

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

There is a market but its VERY hard to get into. I work for a small IT company but we support around 25 networks, most of them are small networks (15-50 people) and the larger ones have an in-house guy who generally does the day to day support and we only get involved when there is a firewall config change or a server crash.

I would suggest getting certified as many clients we approach ask for certification. Also if you are aiming at small business it would be beneficial to learn small business server inside out, it’s a great product and affordable for smaller companies.