WSUS migration

Discussion in 'Software' started by Theprof, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hello,

I am looking into migrating our current WSUS server to another server. Current we have WSUS 2.0 and I think that we currently want to stay with 2.0 and would like to migrate it to a windows 2003 server.

Our current setup is windows 2000 server with the database residing on the server it self. The wsus updates are located on a different partition and sql database is located on the C: driver of the server.

Now I pretty much have an idea as to what's the best approach for a migration but I am not really sure as to how to migrate the sql portion of the wsus. So far all I found were articles on how to port over the wsus updates but nothing really about sql. Also from doing the research I know people made and used scripts to automate certain processes.

If anyone done this in the past your help will be greatly appreciated. Ask you can probably see this is my first time ever migrating a wsus server and I would like to get right the first time :biggrin.

Thanks!!!

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  2. nugget
    Honorary Member

nugget Junior toady

Why don't you want to move to a WSUS 3.0 server? You won't regret it if you do.

You could set up a new WSUS 3.0 server and then configure the 2.0 server you have to be a downstream server.

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Thanks nugget, you know I had a discussion with one of the colleagues and we're going to migrate to 3.0. I guess I'll try to do some more research.

If anyone else has any suggestions feel free to post.

Thank you.