Worth trying 1st Line?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ThatLondonFella, Aug 7, 2012.

1. ThatLondonFella

ThatLondonFella Bit Poster

I'm a graduate with a 2:1 in BSc Computer Science related course and have a broad knowledge of computing, hardware, networks etc. Since graduating I have been lost in terms of what to pursue as a career. In my 2 years since graduating, in addition to the various jobs I've held, I've occupied myself by teaching University students 3DS Max, Revit and Photoshop, helping out friends and relatives with hardware/software issues as well as teaching myself HTML5, CSS and I've also developed my skills in zBrush. The months after graduating I applied to numerous jobs within the video game industry and eventually secured a temporary position at Jagex as a Player Support Rep, which was good but it was just temporary to cover their busy period during the summer holidays. In that role, I dealt with hacked accounts, fraud, general customer queries and escalating issues to an Investigation Unit. The last week of my contract I began frantically applying to numerous IT jobs but either received no reply or a rejection. I spoke to a close friend of the family who worked in IT and he suggested that I try 1st Line Support as this would allow me to develop my existing skills and computing knowledge as well as offer a platform for progression in the field of IT. I've been looking around on websites like Reed and they all require a minimum of one year experience in a IT support role, which I haven't got. I've applied for entry-level roles but haven't heard back either. Is there any other way that I could get into this type of work with under one year of experience? I think this is the type of role that I would love to progress into given my love for helping people and my passion for IT and computing.

Any help or guidance would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

TLF

:)

Certifications: BSc
    WIP: A+ and Network+
  2. algorithm&blues