work expirience any ideas?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by richrolls, Feb 23, 2011.

1. richrolls

richrolls Bit Poster

Hi all I am currently studying city and guilds computer maintanence course (level 2 diploma in ict systems support) at collage on 1 evening a week and also home studying the comptia a+ course, the 2 courses link very closely to each other but essentialy im just trying to get the knowledge and qualification`s to get a foot in the door so to speak in the IT industry.

I currently also work full time and am a parent to 2 which means I am only able to free up 1 day a week, although the course and home study seems to be going well so far, I really want to do some work expirience as i think it would help alot in gaining on the job expirience, on the cv and would really help in getting that first IT job as im not sure an employer would be willing to employ on a basic qualification alone.

THE PROBLEM: I have applied to pretty much every pc shop in the area , the local council`s, larger IT companys within the area PC world repairs and anything else relevent I could think of for work expirience with absoloutley no luck what so ever, if any one can think of any other way of gaining some "in the field" work/expirience please do share as am all out of ideas thanks for any advice rich

2. Asterix

Asterix Megabyte Poster

Well all companies now use IT equipment to a certain degree so forget contacting the obvious targets and look at other companies, lots of smaller companies dont have internal support or support contracts and would be a good start, they are also more dynamic, personable and less likely to be 'Unable' to recruit you even thought they do require additional support! knock out a letter of introduction and spend half a day dropping, I think you may have further success if you try small professional businesses, charity shops, factories/industrial premises on trading estates etc.