Wiping laptop??

Discussion in 'Software' started by mickaveli2001, Aug 7, 2008.

1. mickaveli2001

mickaveli2001 Byte Poster

I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to this. I have a main C:\ and a back up drive.. It will allow me to format/partition the backup drive, but not the main C:\ the options are there but 'grayed' out so I can't click on them

My girlfriend is going to college, and I want us both to have accounts on there with our own passwords and folders to store our work on, but I cannot do this at the moment.

Someone said something about BIOS settings? I went onto the BIOS blue screen settings, and there was nothing executable there, just allows you to change and alter certain options, but nothing instantly allows you to re-install windows or anything

At the very very start however when I switch the laptop on, it gives me 2 options 1) Start Windows XP, 2) Boot windows XP from Disc
    If I choose option 2, or leave it for over 10-15 secs, it will select option 2, and go into a blue error screen so I have to be quick to select option number 1 lol... I had a windows XP pro disc in the disc drive, and attempted to just do a re-install without doing a format of the C drive, but no such luck, I was just able to install components and some applications from the disc, but not install the actual OS of Windows XP from the disc - also says the disc is an older version of windows XP and wont allow me to install :S

Anyone any advise or anything that could help?

Certifications: NC Communication/Computing
    WIP: A+
  2. NightWalker

NightWalker Gigabyte Poster

So you want to do a fresh install of XP right? What you need to do is delete all the current partitions so when you boot up with the XP install CD it will think the hard drive is empty and you can create a new partition and do a new install.