Windows Domain functional levels..

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by spacer_07, Feb 5, 2008.

1. spacer_07

spacer_07 New Member

Hey guys, would really appreciate a hand here as im stumped with this topic.. ok so in a nutshell, what are the differences between the following:

Windows 2000 Mixed
    Windows 2000 Native
    Windows server 2003 interim
    Windows server 2003 domain functional level

Each one has it's limitations to the scope of security/distribution groups however im simply failing to see why this is. Please allow me to quote (Im studying for MCSE)

My questions:

1) When it states for example: 'for supporting Windows nt4...domain controllers' what does it mean? As far as im aware, the domain controller is set up on whatever operating system you like.. what exactly does it mean when it states 'supporting it'.
    2) If Windows 2000 mixed supports Nt 4, windows 2000 and windows server 2003, what is the point in having Windows 2000 native? It supports the same as Windows mixed (just one less)

Sorry.. i just cant get my head around this one for some reason. Thanks in advance guys.

Steve

Thread moved from t&d forum. Boyce

2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Sorry to sound harsh (and probably unhelpful) but if you don't understand the difference between the different domain functional levels then you probably shouldn't be stuying for the MCSE in the first place. If you had the recommended pre-requisite experience for an MCSE you would know this stuff already as you would have worked in a large multi site multi domain network environment already.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

This provides a good, clear understanding.

Boyce

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award