Windows 7 config or Windows 8 Config?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by James.M, Sep 12, 2012.

1. James.M

James.M New Member

Hi Forum

I want your thoughts and feelings on this one. I have been working on and have basic but good knowledge on Windows 7 and was thinking of taking the Exam 70-680 after some hard studying, then I came to the thought maybe studying for Windows 8 now might be of more use and get me ahead of the game.

What do you think? Study for the Win7 or Win8 exam, I have a copy of both to play with, but would most likely need a good couple of months to study anyway to feel confident enough to take the exam.

Thanks
    James

edit*
    One of my worries might be the training tools around, is there going to be enough to study from?
    Currently I can find everything i need on Win7.

Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
  2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

James,

I am currently studying the 70-680 myself and the same question popped up in my head... I am going to remain focused on the Windows 7 (70-680) exam and then once I have this exam passed I will aim for the 70-685, as soon as I am MCITP certified (MCSA: Windows 7 as it's soon to be called), then I will use this to upgrade to Windows 8 certification at a later date.

As many companies are still upgrading to Windows 7 from XP, I feel that having Windows 8 certification won't really put me ahead of the game until companies start rolling out to it, and I am not quite sure how many companies are going to move that fast seeing as many are still on XP.

Just my thoughts, will leave that with you.

By the way, which resources have you been using for the 70-680 studying if you dont mind me asking?

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  3. pinwheel

pinwheel New Member