Windows 2008 server with Windows 7 enterprise

Discussion in 'Networks' started by shadowwebs, May 29, 2012.

1. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

So... I have for test purposes setup a VM on oracle virtualbox for Windows Server 2008, added the role for AD DS, with a domain 'wigston.leicester'.

I have then installed Windows 7 Enterprise on a separate VM within the same network and tried to connect to the domain but am getting the attached error.

any ideas?

I am new to all this server setting up business from scratch, I am fine working with servers when they are running by adding new users and domain the account administration, but this is all new to me... I have an interview tomorrow and think I may be tested on a lot of this so could be handy to get my head around as much as possible today and tonight.

Attached Files:

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  2. mcbro

mcbro Byte Poster

What are the DNS settings on the client PC?
    Does the server have the DNS role installed?

Certifications: MCITP:EA, CCNA
  3. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Hi, I have not used virtual box, but with VMWare you need to ensure the networks the VMS are plugged into can connect to each other.

Have you assigned a static IP address for your server? Can you ping it from the client (both IP address and DNS address)?

As Mcbro said, DNS needs to be installed correctly, did you notice what was said about DNS when you installed AD DS? If you didnt have DNS installed it would have prompted you to install it.

Good luck with your interview.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  4. shadowwebs

my mistake, although I had added the role for ADDS and DNS, I had not added the role for DHCP therefore the client PC was not seeing the LAN in which to connect to.