1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 anyone?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by SimonV, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. SimonV

    SimonV Petabyte Poster Administrator

    6,616
    149
    228
    Anyone got the Windows 10 download notification yet? Just fired up a Win7 VM but only normal updates at the moment for me.
     
    Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  2. SimonV

    SimonV Petabyte Poster Administrator

    6,616
    149
    228
    Seems my VM graphics is not beefy enough. :(

    Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 09.52.22.png
    I'm running VMware Fusion on a Macbook Pro so no idea if I can configure things differently to meet the requirements.
     
    Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  3. Juelz

    Juelz Gigabyte Poster

    Top Poster
    of the Month

    1,177
    185
    176
    Nope I still have no notification on my 8.1 laptop. I may not upgrade tbh.
     
    Certifications: MTA Windows Fundamentals, ITIL Foundation, Apple Mac Integration 10.12
    WIP: MTA Networking Fundamentals
  4. dmarsh

    dmarsh Terabyte Poster

    3,782
    302
    184
    Already got Win 10 Preview, still booting into Win 7 for an easy life.

    Some the applications I need don't install on Win 10.
     
    Certifications: CITP, BSc, HND, SCJP, SCJD, SCWCD, SCBCD, SCEA, N+, Sec+, Proj+, Server+, Linux+, MCTS, MCPD, MCSA, MCITP, CCDH
  5. mojorisin

    mojorisin Kilobyte Poster

    395
    14
    41
    I don't think the installs role out until midnight tonight I'm sure i read somewhere
     
    WIP: 70-685 http://www.speedtest.net/result/3377759783.png
  6. GSteer

    GSteer Megabyte Poster

    627
    31
    109
    Well we had one attempted upgrade install this morning (see attached screenshot). I'm currently downloading our Action Pack Enterprise version for a clean install elsewhere.
     

    Attached Files:

    Certifications: BSc. (Comp. Sci.), MBCS, MCP [70-290], Specialist [74-324], Security+, Network+, A+, Tea Lord: Beverage Brewmaster | Courses: LFS101x Introduction to Linux (edX)
    WIP: CCNA Routing & Switching
  7. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    I have upgraded my Surface Pro 2 and laptop so far and all very easy, I also did a VM install and a VM upgrade from 7 - 10, all very nice and straight forward.

    There were a couple of reboots needed for my laptop before it got all the drivers installed but so far I am really liking it, currently building a new watercooled rig that's going to be Windows 10 from the off (5960x cpu, 32GB ram, 980ti under water).
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
    Haroon Mustafa likes this.
  8. zxspectrum

    zxspectrum Gigabyte Poster Premium Member

    1,666
    54
    139
    Same here all I got was a notification and because my hard drive is failing I made the plunge for a Samsung 250 gb ssd, 850 evo, so will need to mess about pulling the data if I can from one to the other, failing that, which is probably will, full install of a Win 7 ultimate, then upgrade to 8.1 then 10.

    Im looking forward to seeing how rapid my laptop will be after its all done

    Ed
     
    Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  9. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    Perhaps give it some more video ram, I know that both the upgrade and a direct install of the RTM build works just fine on vSphere 6.
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  10. SimonV

    SimonV Petabyte Poster Administrator

    6,616
    149
    228
    It could be an issue with Fusion as I'm running an old version 6.0.6, looks like the only way to change the amount of memory is via an XML. I can install it vai a new VM no problem so only seems to be the upgrade via windows update that has this issue. I may try manually upgrading it later but now I have a clean install I can have a play and probably just leave that Win7 VM intact.
     
    Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  11. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    Better to have multiple OS instances around anyway.
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  12. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    So I have been playing with my Surface Pro 2 and it seems a little faster, for sure my boys Lenovo Flex 10 is faster with Win 10 on it compared to Win 8.1 (I was on the verge of sending it back it was so slow before upgrading it to 10).
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  13. Juelz

    Juelz Gigabyte Poster

    Top Poster
    of the Month

    1,177
    185
    176
    From what I experienced on windows 10 it was definitely faster, my 8.1 kept locking up etc.
     
    Certifications: MTA Windows Fundamentals, ITIL Foundation, Apple Mac Integration 10.12
    WIP: MTA Networking Fundamentals
  14. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    I have heard people talk of a 20 - 25% performance improvement.
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  15. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

    10,191
    297
    319
    Upgraded my surface now - left it updating overnight and was ready in the morning. Much quicker than before - when starting Word it used to hang for a few seconds on the splash screen but now its instant. Like the new start menu also.

    Early days but looks good so far...
     
    Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  16. Theprof

    Theprof Petabyte Poster Forum Leader

    4,570
    68
    196
    I upgraded my laptop (Mac Book air with bootcamp), my main desktop, and my gf's laptop, all seem to be good. Going to be upgrading my work laptop next.
     
    Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  17. rocdamike

    rocdamike Byte Poster Gold Member

    235
    21
    72
    Upgraded my Dell XPS 13. Seems a lot better and more responsive.
     
    Certifications: CCNA R&S, CCENT, F5 101 Application Delivery Fundamentals, ITIL Foundation (2011), CompTIA (A+, Network+), MTA (Windows OS, Networking, HTML5)
    WIP: CCNA Security
  18. Juelz

    Juelz Gigabyte Poster

    Top Poster
    of the Month

    1,177
    185
    176
    I have a question.

    If my mate is on windows 8 but doesn't want to upgrade to 10 could I somehow get his free upgrade key and use it on my trial windows 10 0S?

    @SimonD Im going to tag you as you will probably know.
     
    Certifications: MTA Windows Fundamentals, ITIL Foundation, Apple Mac Integration 10.12
    WIP: MTA Networking Fundamentals
  19. Theprof

    Theprof Petabyte Poster Forum Leader

    4,570
    68
    196
    The windows 10 upgrade is associated with the Windows product key (has to be a valid key), which means in your friend's case, the windows 10 upgrade is going to be tied to his windows 8 key. Don't think you'll be able to borrow it.
     
    Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  20. Johnd76

    Johnd76 Megabyte Poster

    704
    16
    64
    I'm very happy with windows 10
     
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST
    WIP: Not a thing

Share This Page

Loading...