Will these certifications get me anywhere?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Duah, Jan 7, 2013.

1. Duah

Duah New Member

Hi, I'm new, but not new, to the IT field. I've been working on and building PC's since 2004, so after losing my job in customer service I decided to finally move forward in the IT field. I am in a technical school at the moment to help receive my certificates as well as a technical diploma. At this time I do have my A+ which I received roughly 2 months after I started school and I'm currently about 40% done with my networking with Labsim, and I plan to atleast get my Security+ certification prior to leaving school. I've worked hard in school being nominated for outstanding student of the year, I will be representing my school in the computer hardware maintenance division in Skills USA, as well as being elected tech club president. I've maintained a 4.0 with perfect attendance as well as interning with our PC services department, and some at Volkswagen. Now with all of this foundation laid as stated I'm looking to get those 3 certifications atleast while I'm in school. Will these actually meet minimum requirements for a job as a Network Administrator? Most of what I've seen you need an AAS or in most cases a BA in Information Systems just to start in entry level Networking.

PS: Before anyone says anything about me going to school for this, I'm actually getting paid to go to school via grants. My school cost roughly $1000 a semester and I actually get roughly $5k in grants a semester.

PPS: I also plan on getting my MCSE and CCNA either through a bootcamp or self study after school.

Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
    Certifications: Testout PC Pro(lol), Comptia A+
    WIP: Network+, Security+
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

In most cases no – you generally need experience to be a network admin.