Will it be o.k if I take 70-271 without looking at 70-272

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by demarrer, May 3, 2009.

1. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

Hi,

Looking to take my 70-271 at the end of the month - fingers crossed. It is o.k just to take this exam without looking to much into 70-272 or do you reckon I'm at a disadvantage by not studying the 272 in depth first?

It looks like there is a lot of over lap between the exams.

P.S it is me or is the MCDST material pretty dry? trying to keep the motivation going with buckets of coffee:biggrin

Certifications: A+, Security +, CCNA, CCSA
    WIP: music, (dreaming of) CCIE Security :D
  2. simonp83

simonp83 Kilobyte Poster

I studied for and passed the 271 before even looking into the 272, so you'll be fine.

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP
    WIP: 70-291
  3. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

cheers! :D

4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

You'll be fine, studying for them separately.

You just wait until you start some of the higher stuff...

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  5. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

Cheers Ken - already had a quick peek at the MCSA to back up what I will be doing at work as I'm getting much more involved in server admin at the moment - and yep those books look like monsters and dry as a board:cry:

However, before I do that I'm looking at making a quick detour for the security + cert. I downloaded a chapter from the sybex certified material from comptia site which made me realise how dry the MS books are!! I thought that before I get the MCSA/MCSE under my belt, I like the idea of having a good grounding in security before I start getting even more involved in server admin.