Which Windows 2008 Cert to take

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by DiscoDave, Dec 17, 2008.

1. DiscoDave

DiscoDave Bit Poster

Hey everyone,

I posted here a while ago regarding the MCSE/MCSA for Windows Server 2003. I got a lot of helpful comments and I appreciate the contributions.

I took all the comments on board but there's been a development at work which has swayed my decision with Microsoft Certifications. To summarise:

I work as a systems administrator for a small company (about 80 employees and about 9 servers, The servers are running Windows Server 2000/2003). I'm the sole IT guy there, I deal with pretty much everything IT related.

The company I work for have offered to pay my expenses to take a Microsoft course (books and exam fees). I've hold fire for a bit because there was discussions going around about getting the servers replaced, essentially it's been put forward that the company replace their core servers with new ones running windows server 2008. This will mean that in the end I'll have the following to manage:

~3 x Windows Server 2003 (These are running software specifically stating that they require 2003 and not 2008 )
    ~5 x Windows Server 2008
    2x Exchange 2007 Servers

To me it seems like this is a very good opportunity, and considering the majority of the severs (including the core ones) will be running Windows Server 2008, I should look at getting Windows Server 2008 certifications. Seems logical, yes?

I've had a look at the Microsoft website (http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcitp/default.mspx) under the "Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP)" certifications and I'm going to take:

MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator

However I'm not sure if I should combine this with either:

MCITP: Server Administrator or MCITP: Enterprise Administrator