Which way to go ?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by richyb78, Jan 20, 2009.

1. richyb78

richyb78 New Member

Hi Al,l newbie here!

Some decisions to be made but thought i would post my situation to see what advise is out there. I have a real interest in IT and looking to pursue this career as im currently in Retail Management. I have done my ECDL certification and CIW associate certification. I began doing these courses with a training provider but found fairly quickly that the cousres arent that flexible when you are in full time employment. So i decided to continue with the home studying route although it meant me paying out a bit more cash. I will be doing the Site Designer exam fairly soon and then hopefully the E-commerce exam after that.

However I have found that my passion isnt really within the creative side of ICT and without any kind of portfolio at this time I think it will be quite difficult to find a job once the exams have been completed. But i did find using pure HTML and markup languages interesting, so maybe my route should be more technical.

So now im unsure weather to follow the tech side of site designing or maybe look at going to tech support route and maybe study for MCDST. Either way im very passionate about getting ino ICT and could I start applying for 1st line support jobs with the certifications i have already.

Any advice welcome, also is age a big factor as there will be much younger applicants going for these vacancies?!?!?!

Cheers.

Certifications: ECDL, CIW Associate
    WIP: Master CIW Designer
  2. dalsoth

dalsoth Kilobyte Poster

Hi and welcome:D

Apply for the support roles anyway. Study for the MCDST cert in the meantime.