1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which way to go now?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Kris, Oct 4, 2009.

1. Kris

Kris New Member

I have 10 years of experience in first and second line desktop support. But I got bored handling the same problems over and over again and I was thinking about a career move months ago. I decided to study computer science in Open University as a long term plan.

But, crises for everyone, I got fired! I became too expensive for that multinational.
    I have basis experience and knowledge with networking, TCP/IP, ... and the normal 2nd line stuff. I also have my first final done (SQL- databases) at university with a beautiful 80%. I already have a graduate degree in library and information science.

What can be a next move? I 'll earn less money than I did with my 2nd line support job with 10 years experience, but I have no other choice now, have I.
    My Open University will take too long to complete. I have a loan to pay for my house, so I can not study OU full time. I want to study something on the short term and continue my Open University as a long term plan, studying in the evenings.

I might get an opportunity to have a 10 month full time course in system administrator for free. It is not MCSA, it will be a certification of the governement I suppose. MAybe I can use that as a basic level to continue certifications.

SQL can be an other plan. I want to eventally end up in a combination of IT and library science and databases are very important in that area. Can I start studying SQL database administrator without having good knowledge of Microsoft windows server? Can I learn all I need in the MCITP database administrator course?

Are there other options?

WIP: Open University
  2. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Did you get any server administration experience during your 10 years?