Which route to take

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by GoldCoast, Aug 9, 2007.

1. GoldCoast

GoldCoast New Member

Hello guys,

Really nice forum this is :thumbleft

I got a slight dilemma I hope you all can help me with.

Quick backgroud:
    I studied Information Technology in University and graduated last year. I've since gone on to work as a "Database Administrator", supporting a mid sized company. My official job title is a DBA but i'm more of 1st line support / "fix anything technical" guy. I quite enjoy my role but I struggle sometimes as with my educational background it was more web design/programming and project development. But since starting this job I've learning so much just researching on my own how to solve each problem as and when they pop up.

Over the past couple of weeks I've been seriously thinking of getting a certification to help me in my role and move my career onwards. I was initially looking at the MCSA and I will very much like to do that, however I'm thinking if I should start with a A+ before doing the MCSA and the Project / Security + later on. To be honest if i can pass the MCSA without the A+ I'll do it but I'm not sure if I have all the knowledge it will take to go straight into it.

Also do I save up go classes or self study. If I end up going that route I might need some advice on book/cd recoomendations.

In the future I'll like to be involved in some kind of IT project maangement role or IT analyst/consulting for companies. Will these certifications help towards that aim considering I graduated with a 1st class degree.

One thing I'm sure off is I dont want to go down the Cisco or software programming route.

Any advice or suggestions will be appreciated.

once again..nice forum 8)

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

The MCSA might be a little ways off for you. Here's Microsoft's recommendations for the MCSA: