Which qualification/certification?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by XDA, May 28, 2008.

1. XDA

XDA Bit Poster

Hi All,

My background - I have been working in IT since I left school, so I have over 3 years IT Support experience. I work for for the NHS providing 2nd line support on both hardware and software. (calls are passed from 1st line/helpdesk to me, and I pass them to 3rd line if i cant resolve)

Aims - I am looking to move into a Field based/Field service role in the near future. My current position is mainly field based, but not as much as i would like to be due to outsourcing/internal politics :rolleyes: My day-to-day role includes hardware break fix/software faults/basic network faults etc etc.

Plan of action - I have applied for quite alot of Field based/Field service roles and have only had one interview where I was unsuccessfull. My only current IT qualifications are my SVQ/NVQ Level IT Users qualification and ECDL. Either my CV is poor, my age (21) or its my qualifications are the reasons why I am not getting anywhere? I am thinking of doing the CompTia A+ as self study and hope that improves my chances?

What qualifications would you recommend for someone trying to move from a desktop support background into a Field Service role? I am thinking A+ and maybe MCSA? What do you guys suggest? Input from Field Service engineers/ex-field service engineers would be great!

I can also put up my CV if someone would like to review it and see if its letting me down?

Cheers!

Certifications: IT NVQ Level 3, ECDL, HP APS (2009) and CompTIA A+
    WIP: Lenovo (Warranty repairs)
  2. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

How many pages is your CV? Is it based on an MS Word Template? Do you have crap in there such as Aspirations, Hobbies or Extra-Curricular Avtivities? Have you got a bull$hit statement at the top of the 1st page?