Which certs to take for career in network security

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by peace786, Jul 27, 2005.

1. peace786

peace786 Bit Poster

Having read many posts by people on this board I definetely have a much clearer idea as to what it takes to do decently well in IT and as to what certs to do.

Im new to IT (although Im not a complete novice). I want to go into network security and have been thinking about the ccna alot and have a gy from computeach visiting me on Friday.

Im really thinking of doing the A + (inorder to build up my hardware knowledge) and the CCNA. Do you guys think that the A+ cert is really valuable and that alone can get your foot in the door and will stand you in good stead regarding all round computer knowledge and also if i want to do the ccna should i do the n+ first or is the ccna good enough and will give me foundation knowledge also?

I know that I shouldnt jump into the mscse and should wait a while but these days even helpdesk jobs want an mcse?

Yes I know EXPERIENCE is almost a must. Presuming I get my A+ and ccna what initial jobs should I apply for to get my experience. Possible help desk jobs? Will A+ be a good cert to really be good at a job like hardware support etc?

many thanks

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Yes, it really will. There are lots of roads to developing a career in networking and network security but you really need to lay a foundation first. You won't be able to get qualified in all of these areas too quickly so while it's good to have a long term plan, also try focusing on one step at a time. Start with the A+. You can do some research on the CCNA and other certs but one thing at a time.

Having said all that, you might want to take a look at Comptia's Security+ cert here:

http://www.comptia.org/certification/security/default.aspx

Just a suggestion.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. peace786

peace786 Bit Poster