Which cert to do first?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Breaker, Mar 21, 2009.

1. Breaker

Breaker Bit Poster

I want to eventually become a database developer. So I’ve currently narrowed down the certifications I want to take: SQL Server 2008-Database Development or Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 – Windows Presentation Foundation Application Development. I have some experience with VB .NET 2005 but none in SQL server. Any idea on which I should go for first?

WIP: A+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi, why not introduce yourself here and be a part of the community.

I would say go for what you have experience with first of all.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Since you have neither WPF or SQL Server experience you might as well learn whatever interests you most. I reccomend picking up a book on WPF or SQL Server and creating an app or database first. Then you can start to think about maybe getting a cert.

You mentioned you know VB .Net so you could also attempt 70-536.

Best of luck ! :D

4. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

Do you have any previous work experience in IT at all, do you have any certifications, without this sort of info we can't really base an opinion or give solid advice. I read your intro thread and it seems you are a recent grad and are working on breaking into the IT field is this correct?

If so I would start off with the basics that everyone should start with, A+ and Network+. These will help you at least get your foot in the door and maybe get an interview. Good luck with what you decide mate.

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  5. LordMoolyBap

LordMoolyBap Nibble Poster