Where to study??

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by paulwatson5, May 7, 2010.

1. paulwatson5

paulwatson5 Byte Poster

Hello.

I'm looking for a bit of advice on the MCDST if anyone can help me out.
    My local college were offering it and it was supposed to start in September and run part time for 15 weeks but its been put back until May 2011 which is too late. (Ideally need this my end of the year as i will be out of a job by then)
    I'm currently studying for the CompTIA A+ certification via self study, just bought the study books and sitting the exam once i finished the books. (Plan to have this done and passed by August)

I know that the MCDST has 2 exams and i know what books to get but i just wanted to know if anyone has done this via self study and if they recommend it or does anyone have any other suggestions how to take this course.

Ideally i want to avoid all training providers wherever i can as they know nothing and charge a fortune.

I have looked into self study and the exams are £88 each and there is 2 exams and the 2 books are £26 each which comes to £228 in total.

Anyone got any sugestions??

Certifications: CompTIA A+ (220-701 & 220-702)
    WIP: CompTIA Network +
  2. DaveyB1981

DaveyB1981 Byte Poster

Will reply properly when I have more time, but id say self study. Granted, it doesn't suit everyone here, but I think a lot of the time it can be the best way to learn.

Have a look through the forums, you will find a lot of people have gone this route and there is plenty of help from thos that have.

Most of all, good luck in whichever path you choose.

Dave

Certifications: CISMP, ITIL Fdn, MCDST
    WIP: the day job...
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Got the books and a good computer and install Virtual PC or VMWare server as they are both free and you can install several OS on these to get hands on practice.