Where to start?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by AshGrant, Mar 31, 2009.

1. AshGrant

AshGrant New Member

Hello,

This is my first post on the forum, except yo say hello in the introduction thread, so please go easy if I'm being a complete newbie. I best introduce myself, for those of you who don't keep track of us noobs in the introduction page, I'm currently and have been the past 10 years, a member of HM Forces, but want to leave and get a more settled job, where I can at least live at home and see my family every night.

I want to do a few entry level courses to get a few qualifications, this along with my experience in the Army as a Communications Systems Operator (Mostly radio communications, but some basic IT/Networking is included, as well as some help desk user support) and my personal use of computers as the 'family and friends expert' should stand me in good stead for an entry level job in IT.

I want to start a career in IT to turn a hobby into a a job, I'm looking to earn a similar wage to what I get now, but understand a drop in pay might be unavoidable to start with, 25k+ is a ball park figure I would be hoping for to start with, but I'm flexible.

If I'm not mistaken I want to aim for Comptia A+ Certification and Comptia Network+ Certification as a starting point for official qualifications, is this the right path to go down? Will these course help me get a wage or better than I'm seeking? Will they help me get a job in IT at all?

I have also been looking at the Cerco route, after reading a few of these forums Cerco is not highly regarded, however, I would get the course paid for by an ex-forces charity, so surly Cerco's CCSN is better than nothing if I can get it for free? Judging by what a lot of people have said the jobs Cerco get you into are nothing more than fillers, but is this a bad place to gain specific experience?

Cheers

Ash

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hiya Ash,

Welcome aboard.