Where to start

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Joanne598, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Joanne598

Joanne598 New Member

Hello everyone :unsure

Yet another newbie here and one with no experience looking to get into the IT industry.

I was wondering if I should do or if there is anything I do course wise before attempting to work my way through the MCDST.

I have done a few courses years ago (CLAIT, ECDL and OCR) and use a computer everyday so I would say I can find my way around but not to the extent of what you need to know for MCDST.

A few months ago I got the CompTIA A+ Mike Meyers book and started reading hence when I got to something that totally baffled me the book did not seem to get opened as often. I do realise that I need to study hard but wondered if I should do any other kind of course before attempting one like the MCDST.

I would appreciate your advice.

Thanks
    Joanne

2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Welcome to CF:) Joanne and good choice on getting the A+ book and studying for the cert. Well nothing comes easy but with a little effort and hard work you can go a long way in achieving some or all of your goals in life.

I'd advice you carry on with the A+ study and get disciplined without getting side tracked about the MCDST. Whilst you're at it start looking for helpdesk 1st IT support roles as these require little or no experience and a good starting point.

Cheerio and enjoy the forums:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

If something in MM's book baffles you - then ask about it here.

There is *no* shame in asking about stuff - we all do it!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!