What's expected in an entry level job?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by redstar, Aug 16, 2007.

1. redstar

redstar Bit Poster

Hi all,

I'm on the verge of making a total change in career and moving to IT. I have no formal qualifications or IT experience. The only part i'm sure of is that i love working with pc's, repairing, building, troubleshooting ect.

I'm currently a manager in manufacturing and have been for the last 4yrs.(been working with same company for 17yrs) I'm 33 want to do something that i'll genuinely enjoy doing for the rest of my days.

I'm thinking of starting with some basic stuff then moving onto perhaps A+ N+ then progressing onto a mcse.

My questions are these:
    What kind of job titles would i be best applying for giving what i like doing?
    What kind of things would i be doing on a day to day basis in an entry level job in IT?

At some point i'd like my job duties to be based around what i like doing. (don't wanna sit at a desk on a telephone all day!)

Hope all that makes sense and look forward to all your comments.

Certifications: None
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Entry-level jobs, by definition, don't require experience - it's a job in which you *enter* the IT field.. Some companies will post in their job listings that they want experience... but if that's the case, then that's not an entry-level job, right?

The A+ and N+ are certainly worthwhile to help set yourself apart from your competition, provided they also lack real-world IT experience. That said, don't wait until you get your A+... start looking now, while you're studying. The A+, once you get it, will only help your efforts.