What would you do?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Abbid, Nov 4, 2008.

1. Abbid

Abbid Bit Poster

I need some advice.

I have a degree in computer science (pure programming) and i like programming. The plan was to graduate and get a job as a junior programmer somewhere.
    But after i graduated, i found it hard to get into an IT job and had to take a job in a crappy call center.
    While there i decided to get some professional qualifications so i signed up with computeach.

At the time of signing i didnt know which course plan to take so we decided that i would start with the A+ and then have a choice to doing either the MCSE or C#.NET.

Now, 2 years ago, while still studying for the A+ i managed to get a job as an IT technician in a smallish company. I am due to take my A+ exam next week and after i pass i need to decide whether to start the MCSE or .NET course.

Ideally i would like to do the .NET course because i want to get into programming, but even if i do complete it soon, i have no commercial experience so it would be hard for me to get a job.

If i go down the MCSE route, i already have a solid grounding in all the technologies from my job and have 2 years exp, so it would be easier for me to move into a better job.

Even thought i do enjoy the hardware side of things, i enjoy software more.

So what would you do in this situation? risk it and go for programming, or stick with what you are have a good foundation in and go down the hardware route?

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Go for what you want to do and what is going to make you happy. BTW unless you have experience in administering a mulituser/server environment you shouldn't be going for the MCSE anyway and it could make finding a job harder as it is supposed to be for people who have the experience professionally.

I'd go for the programming if I were you.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270